Recipe Mama

“What I have in the cupboard” con carne December 13, 2008

Filed under: Meat Dishes,rice dishes — obsidian @ 3:46 am
Tags: , , , ,

Not a proper chilli con carne, as not much chilli in it (cooking for a family including a youngster)…. it was going to be a savoury mince, until I realised I had no potatoes… so I was looking in the pantry going “what goes with mince and rice? and a tin of kidney beans? and a jar of pasta sauce? hmm….” I’ve never actually had chilli con carne (I hate capsicum), So I started making it, then looked for a recipe online to see what spices to use.

Ingredients:
some mince (no idea how much – 200g I think)
chopped spring onion
1 large garlic clove chopped
1 tin kidney beans (drained and rinsed)
1 jar of pasta sauce (I used Raguletto Bolognaise)
1 teaspoon cardamon
1/2 teaspoon corriander
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 ts curry powder
1 bacon stock cube
squirt of sweet chilli sauce
Sprinkle of pepper
1 carrot, finely grated

Rice to serve

Method:
Fry the mince, and drain to remove excess oil, add spring onion and garlic. Fry until garlic is soft. Add the other ingredients and simmer until the carrot is soft.

I put the rice in with the bean mix, but you can serve the bean mix on the rice.

 

Leave a Reply

