Recipe Mama

Roti June 24, 2011

Filed under: bread,Extras & Side Dishes — obsidian @ 9:53 am

This is a pan cooked flat bread that goes nicely with curry.  I got the basic guide from watching this YouTube video, which I suggest you watch!

.

This recipe makes 8 roti.

.

Mix together 1 cup plain white flour, half a cup of water, about 2 tsp oil, a pinch of salt and if you like a pinch of turmeric, a pinch of cumin and a pinch of corriander.  Mix this together and knead it until it’s smooth (I use a spatula, so I can sort of knead it in the bowl without getting my hands sticky).  Set aside for a few minutes, then turn out onto a floured surface and cut it into 8 sections.

.

Roll each section into a ball, coat well with flour and roll out until thin.  It should make a sort of side-plate size rough circle.  Put that into a dry frypan, and heat until you can see brown spots forming on the under side.  Flip the roti over and cook that side until brown spots form.  I then flip over and redo each side again for a minute or less, – sometimes they puff a bit, sometimes not.  Flip onto a plate and give a light brush with melted butter (I add some garlic to my melted butter).  Then cook the next roti and put it on the one you just made.  You can butter both sides or just one if you prefer.

.

It’ll probably take about 15 mins to make all 8 (If I start when I put my rice cooker on for the rice, I finish when the rice does – which is 15 mins), so the bottom one will have cooled by the time you’re done, but if you time it right, you can enjoy the top ones with your curry while they are still warm (or you could put them in the oven on a lot temp to keep warm while you serve)

 

Leave a Reply

