Recipe Mama

Gravy – with a twist June 9, 2013

Filed under: Extras & Side Dishes — obsidian @ 9:07 am

When I make a roast, I always put about 2cm of water in the bottom of the roasting dish, and baste the meat as it cooks (and I cook it for a couple of hours) – then when it’s time to put the potatoes into the roasting pan,  I pour off the water into a saucepan and use that as the base for my gravy.

Well tonight I made some really good gravy and that’s because I added something else, which will be my secret ingredient from now on!

Last night we had lasagne, and my mix was a little bit too liquidy, so I put it into a colander and drained off the extra liquid – keeping it….  The lasagne mixture was made with eggplant, zucchini, leek, mushroom, carrot, garlic, herbs & spices, a tin of lentils, a tin of tinned tomatoes, a jar of tomato puree and the mince.  So it had a lot of flavour, nd all that flavour was in the liquid I drained off.

So in tonight’s gravy I added some of that lasagne liquid.  Which gave the gravy a great flavour!

I’ve frozen the rest of the lasagne liquid in icecube trays so I can add it to other dishes as a sort of stock.

 

Leave a Reply

